And the Pulitzer for National Reporting goes to…


Lisa Song

Lisa Song (Spring 2010), with Elizabeth McGowan and David Hasemyer of InsideClimate News, won the 2013 Pulitzer Prize for National Reporting for their “rigorous reports on flawed regulation of the nation’s oil pipelines, focusing on potential ecological dangers posed by diluted bitumen (or ‘dilbit’), a controversial form of oil,” according to the press release. Song writes, “I owe a lot to the Chips Quinn program — those multimedia skills from the orientation helped me get my current job, so thank you!”

Jacob Muselmann (Spring 2011), copy editor for the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel won first place at the American Copy Editors Society’s (ACES’) 2013 National Headline Contest.

Three Chipster won awards at the Society of American Business Writers and Editors’ (SABEW’s) 2012 Best in Business Awards. They are
Molly Young (Summer 2010), reporter for The Oregonian in Portland who was part of the team that won the explanatory award for dailies with a circulation of 200,000 to 400,000;
Marco Santana (Spring 2009), reporter for The Des Moines Register in Iowa who was part of a business staff that won the general excellence award for newspapers with a circulation of 200,000 or less (Santana writes about technology and startups and also produces a weekly page in the business section that highlights innovation in Iowa.); and
Melvin Backman (Summer 2012), who won in the category of stories written for student publications for the University of North Carolina.

Tony Gonzalez (Summer 2007), reporter for The Tennessean in Nashville, was part of a team that won Gannett’s Content Awards for Watchdog Journalism. He writes, “For seven months (and still ongoing), The Tennessean has been rigorously investigating failings in the state’s Department of Children’s Services, which has struggled to protect vulnerable children, fallen behind on fatality reviews intended to prevent future mistakes, and ignored state laws and internal policies. The newspaper created a statewide media coalition to sue the state over its refusal to release child death records, and the scrutiny contributed to the resignation of the department’s commissioner.”

Carolina Hidalgo (Summer 2011), photography intern for The Tampa Bay (Fla.) Times, won second place in the sports picture story category of Pictures of the Year International. She writes, “I entered a picture story I worked on late last year for one of our Sunday sections. I got to hang out with an awesome local high school student as he became an honorary team member of his school’s football team. He fell in love with the sport as a toddler but his Down syndrome and heart problems always kept him from sports.”

Alex Prewitt (Summer 2012), with two sports reporters for The Washington Post, placed fourth in the explanatory category of the Associated Press Sports Editors’ (APSE’s) 2012 contest.

Marissa Evans (Summer 2012) was named the National Association of Black Journalists (NABJ) Student Journalist of the Year. Evans is a senior at Marquette University.

Art Marroquin

Moving on:
Art Marroquin (Summer 1997) joins The Orange County (Calif.) Register as a reporter covering Anaheim and general assignment stories. Previously he was a reporter for the Daily Breeze in Torrance, Calif.

Bianca Prieto

Bianca Prieto (Summer 2004) is a reporter for Digital First Media’s Project Thunderdome in New York City. Previously she was a breaking news reporter for the Orlando (Fla.) Sentinel.

Sigourney Nuñez

Sigourney Nuñez (Spring 2012) has been hired as a junior staff writer for in Sherman Oaks, Calif. She says, “Currently, I am aggregating daily news briefs and will be producing multimedia packages and contributing to our weekly Tweet Up’s happening every Tuesday.” The publication seeks “to advance the debate towards Black economic progress by focusing on finance, politics and culture,” according to its website.
New Hires:
Four Spring 2013 Scholars were hired full time. They are
Rachel Chinapen, reporter for the New Haven (Conn.) Register;
Lauren Jow, reporter for The Orange County (Calif.) Register, covering Irvine City Council and courts and crime;
Sonya Paclob, multi-platform journalist for the York (Pa.) Daily News; and
Zen Vuong, reporter for the San Gabriel Valley Tribune in West Covina, Calif.

Frank Bi

Frank Bi (Summer 2012) will be a summer intern at the Chronicle of Higher Education in Washington, D.C. He will be working as a data and interactive intern. Bi is a student at the University of Minnesota.

Marina Villeneuve (Summer 2012) will be a summer intern for the Los Angeles Times in Washington, D.C. She is a student at Dartmouth College.

Marian Liu (Spring 2001), community manager for the South Florida Sun-Sentinel in Fort Lauderdale, was awarded the Asian American Journalists Association’s (AAJA’s) 2013 Dinah Eng Leadership Fellowship.

Anthony McCartney (Spring 2011), reporter for The Associated Press in Los Angeles, joins the AP’s leadership training program called Future Leaders. He writes, “It’s the second year they’ve offered it and it’s a group of 16 people chosen from throughout the company to learn more about how the AP works and also try to solve some of the company’s challenges. It’s no guarantee of bigger and better things but definitely a step in that direction.”

Keep your news coming. Send updates to Michelle Hedenskoog.


No Comments

No comments yet.

Leave a comment